Skip to main content Return to Top

Board Members

MAWSS is operated by the Board of Water and Sewer Commissioners under a deed of trust from the City of Mobile issued in 1951. Our seven commissioners are appointed to staggered six-year terms by members of the Mobile City Council.

Walter A. Bell - Chair, retired Chair of Swiss Re American Holding Corporation, brings global management skills in the finance and insurance industries, in both the public and private sector. He served as Alabama Insurance Regulator under Governor Bob Riley. Before accepting that position he was National Director for Emerging Markets for the MONY Group. A graduate and former trustee of Spring Hill College, he serves on a variety of civic and charitable boards. He will fill the unexpired term vacated by Patricia Tyrrell, running through April 28, 2020.

Sheri N. Weber - Vice-Chair, is a community activist who received her B.S. in Nursing from the Medical College of Virginia. Before retiring, she worked as Site Coordinator for Providence Hospital’s Outreach Services. She currently serves on the Board of the Mobile Museum of Art and is a Junior League of Mobile Sustainer. Community involvement included service on the Board and Executive Board of the Child Advocacy Center, Mobile County Library Board, Keep Mobile Beautiful Board and Helping Hands for Children Board. A graduate of the Leadership Mobile Class of 1988, Weber was appointed on Dec. 21, 2010 to a term ending October 1, 2016. (Reappointed until Oct. 1, 2022)

Thomas Zoghby, Secretary-Treasurer, is retired from Volkert ,Inc. where he served as Chief Financial Officer. He was an integral part of the Senior leadership of Volkert during more than 30 years of company growth. Zoghby was instrumental in the establishment of the Employee Stock Ownership Plan which provides sustainability for employee owners and their retirement.  During his tenure with the Company he had oversight responsibility for the financial, accounting, human resources, legal and IT functions.

Zoghby has a bachelor’s degree in Accounting and an MBA from the University of South Alabama. He was also a licensed CPA.  Zoghby has been involved in many businesses, civic and charitable organizations. He currently serves on the Executive Advisory Council for the Mitchell College of Business at the University of South Alabama. Zoghby is a graduate of Leadership Mobile and Leadership Alabama.

Barbara Drummond, Commissioner, Representative for House District 103 is the owner of B-Inspired Marketing and Consulting, Inc. She is the former Executive Director of Administrative Services and Community Affairs for the City of Mobile, as well as former Public Affairs and Community Services Director for the Mobile County Commission. Prior to government service, she was a reporter and columnist for the Mobile Press Register. She holds a B.A. in Communications from the University of South Alabama. A graduate of Leadership Mobile and Leadership Alabama, she has served on numerous civic boards, receiving several national awards for her leadership. She was appointed to the Board on February 4, 2014 to a term ending July 2026.

Kenneth W. Nichols, Commissioner, is a commercial sales and leasing agent for Vallas Realty, Inc. and the owner of Gulf Coast Traffic and Development Services, LLC, an engineering and development consulting firm. He is a licensed professional engineer in five states and holds a B.S. in Civil Engineering from The University of Alabama and a Master’s in Business Administration from The University of South Alabama. He previously worked as a Project Manager at Volkert, Inc. where he was named the Mobile Area Council of Engineers’ Young Engineer of the Year in 2014. A graduate of the Leadership Mobile Class of 2012, he will fill the unexpired term vacated by Mr. Charles E. Chapman running through February 1, 2022.

Maria Gonzalez, Commissioner,  has worked for the past 15 years as an initial inspector, team leader, trainer, mentor and Quality Control inspector and trainer with FEMA, incorporating her public relations and basic construction knowledge to help individuals following natural disasters.

Prior to FEMA work, she retired from the airline industry (Delta Air Lines and Orange Air LLC) where she had extensive public relations experience working the front lines as an In-Flight On-Board-Leader and Air Transport Supervisor.

Raymond L. Bell Jr., Commissioner, is a shareholder with the law firm of Maynard, Cooper & Gale with a practice focused on governmental relations. He has practiced law since 2000. Prior to practicing law he served as an Assistant to the Alabama Senate President Pro Tem, Assistant to the Lieutenant Governor and as Appointment Secretary for the Governor. In addition to the practice of law he serves a a Special District Court Judge for the 13th Judicial Circuit of Alabama. He is a former member of the Alabama Ethics Commission and has served as a member of the governing boards for many other civic and community entities. He is currently an Alabama State Bar Commissioner and actively participates in many functions of the State Bar. He is a proud graduate of the University of Montevallo (B. S. - Political Science) and Faulkner-Jones School of Law (J.D.).




CALL 251-694-3164 PAY ONLINE


Call Center : 8:00AM - 5:00PMLobby: 8:00AM - 4:30PM FIND A LOCATION

EMERGENCIES - 24/7/365

CALL 251-694-3165