Board Members

Board Members

MAWSS is operated by the Board of Water and Sewer Commissioners under a deed of trust from the City of Mobile issued in 1951. Our seven commissioners are appointed to staggered six-year terms by members of the Mobile City Council.

Barbara Drummond, Chair, Representative for House District 103 is the owner of B-Inspired Marketing and Consulting, Inc. She is the former Executive Director of Administrative Services and Community Affairs for the City of Mobile, as well as former Public Affairs and Community Services Director for the Mobile County Commission. Prior to government service, she was a reporter and columnist for the Mobile Press Register. She holds a B.A. in Communications from the University of South Alabama. A graduate of Leadership Mobile and Leadership Alabama, she has served on numerous civic boards, receiving several national awards for her leadership. She was appointed to the Board on February 4, 2014 to a term ending February 2, 2020.
Samuel L. Jones, Vice Chair, former Mayor of the City of Mobile brings extensive public service experience to MAWSS. He served as Mayor from September 2005 to August 2013 and as Mobile County Commissioner, District 1 from 1987 - 2005. Prior to holding public office he was Executive Director of Mobile Community Action, an organization that assists qualifying customers with help paying utility bills. He served nine years in the U.S. Navy, including time aboard the aircraft carrier USS Forrestal. He was appointed to the MAWSS Board June 3, 2014 to a term ending April 28, 2020.
Sheri N. Weber, is a community activist who received her B.S. in Nursing from the Medical College of Virginia. Before retiring, she worked as Site Coordinator for Providence Hospital’s Outreach Services. She currently serves on the Board of the Mobile Museum of Art and is a Junior League of Mobile Sustainer. Community involvement included service on the Board and Executive Board of the Child Advocacy Center, Mobile County Library Board, Keep Mobile Beautiful Board and Helping Hands for Children Board. A graduate of the Leadership Mobile Class of 1988, Weber was appointed to the Board on Dec. 21, 2010. She was reappointed on October 4, 2016 to a second term ending October 1, 2022.
Kenneth W. Nichols, Secretary-Treasurer, is a commercial sales and leasing agent for Vallas Realty, Inc. and the owner of Gulf Coast Traffic and Development Services, LLC, an engineering and development consulting firm. He is a licensed professional engineer in five states and holds a B.S. in Civil Engineering from The University of Alabama and a Master’s in Business Administration from The University of South Alabama. He previously worked as a Project Manager at Volkert, Inc. where he was named the Mobile Area Council of Engineers’ Young Engineer of the Year in 2014. A graduate of the Leadership Mobile Class of 2012, he will fill the unexpired term vacated by Mr. Charles E. Chapman running through February 1, 2022.

Walter A. Bell, retired Chair of Swiss Re American Holding Corporation, brings global management skills in the finance and insurance industries, in both the public and private sector. He served as Alabama Insurance Regulator under Governor Bob Riley. Before accepting that position he was National Director for Emerging Markets for the MONY Group. A graduate and former trustee of Spring Hill College, he serves on a variety of civic and charitable boards. He will fill the unexpired term vacated by Patricia Tyrrell, running through April 28, 2020.

Maynard V. Odom, is Enrollment Manager and an advisor to International Students at Bishop State Community College. He is also a doctoral candidate at Nova Southwestern University. He holds a Masters degree in Management from the U.S. Sports Academy and has undergraduate degrees from the University of South Alabama and Bishop State. He was reappointed for a second term on the Board in October 2012 serving until October 2018. 

James E. Laier, Ph.D., is the founder and former CEO of Southern Earth Sciences, Inc. He began his professional career with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. He received his B.S. in Civil Engineering from The Citadel, and a M.S. in Civil/Geotechnical Engineering from West Virginia University and his Ph.D. in Civil/Geotechnical Engineering from the University of Florida. He is a Fellow in the American Society of Civil Engineers and Associate Dean in the College of Engineering at the University of South Alabama. He was appointed to a second term in September, 2014 to run through October 1, 2020.


CALL 251-694-3100 PAY ONLINE


Payment Center : 8:00AM - 4:30PMCall Center : 7:00AM - 5:00PM FIND A LOCATION

EMERGENCIES - 24/7/365

CALL 251-694-3165